Dutch Royal House

In the Netherlands, the royal family and the Royal House are not the same. The royal family is the Orange-Nassau family, not every member of which is a member of the Royal House. The members of the Royal House are the monarch (currently, King Willem-Alexander), the former monarch (on abdication), the members of the royal family in the line of succession to the throne and their spouses. The monarch, together with the ministers, form the government. Although the ministers, and not the monarch, are accountable for acts of government, laws passed by parliament are signed by both the monarch and the accountable minister.